Hello.

I just had a lovely 4-day Easter break. It was tops. We ate, we slept, we did the traditional bank-holiday-Monday trip to Ikea with the whole world and their children. Good stuff. The best part was I got a new chair! Are you excited? I can tell that you are. No seriously, I was starting to get back and shoulder (and neck and hand) problems from sitting on my lovely, but squishy, sofa for, like, 8 hours at a stretch sewing, and really in the interests of wanting to keep on doing that for the next 40 years, I thought I’d better get a good chair. Here she is!

Props to the mister for spotting the sheepskins that ‘look like wolves’. Was there ever a better sales pitch uttered? Not to this girl. Sitting in it, watching Game of Thrones and stitching body parts. I am truly queen of my domain.

Anyway, this is stage one of  ‘Mission:Embroidery Control Centre’ here at Mother Eagle towers. I have a few other bits of equipment on the way so soon I will be like one of those nerdy boys with their gamer chairs with everything attached like they’re on the bridge of the Starship Enterprise. Or something like that.

Aaaaanyway. Here’s what I’m doing right now:

Little magpie in bullion knots.

Mini stumpwork toadstool. This is worked in aplique, french knots, tiny bullion knots, chain stitch and satin stitch.

Following the Death Cap I wanted to get back to making more miniatures for the jewellery collection. My guru had donated to the cause once again with a perfect-size roller frame and also a stack of very old (1950s) and very soft heavy cotton pillowcases. The perfect thing to be soaked in Yorkshire tea and covered in little art works, non? This is truly wonderful fabric to work on actually. Heavy and even and smooth and with a story to tell. Of many sleeping heads over 70 years. If pillowcases could talk.

Stay tuned :)

